GiD - The personal pre and post processor
Reset all user preferences
Reset user preferences
The easiest way to delete this user settings file, without need to find it on disk, is to start once as 'Repair GiD'
and then a window will appear: set the 'Reset preferences' checkbox and press Ok .
You can go to the gid application folder and execute the script gid_safe_mode .
If the user preferences are deleted, the next time that GiD starts it will use its own default values.
User preferences location
Each user has its own copy of some GiD preferences (like variable value, or window sizes). These settings are automatically saved and loaded.
This information is saved in a file named gid.ini , stored in a different place depending on the platform and the GiD version:
e.g.
Windows 11/ 10/ 8 / 7 / Vista: C:\Users\<current user>\AppData\Roaming\GiD\16.0\gid.ini
Windows XP: C:\Documents and Settings\<current user>\Application Data\GiD\16.0\gid.ini
Linux / macOS: $(HOME)/.gid/16.0/gid.ini
By default some Windows folders like "AppData" are hidden. In Linux and macOS, filenames starting by . are hidden.
Note: In GiD 14 official versions in Linux/macOs the file name was '.gidDefaults' and is directly at $(HOME)
Note: Since GiD GiD 14 developer each GiD version has its own copy of gid.ini in a subfolder.